Hanbok and Kimchi Experience

August 1, 2013
On the first day of August, we all went to a hanok and tried on hanbok (traditional Korean clothing 한복) and made kimchi at a kimchi museum place. There were tons of beautiful hanbok from which we could choose! Mine was a lovely lavender and pink one. Because I bought my own hanbok in Itaewon the previous week, I had experience wearing the lovely garments. I was not fully satisfied with my hanbok because it made me look larger up top than I am… Oh well haha

  
       We took many photos, and it was fun! When some of the Chinese girls, Russian girls, and I lined up all together for a photo, a staff member each gave us a Polaroid photo! I love Polaroids so much, so that was awesome.

 
         Noori, my favorite staff college-age member, helped us put on the hanbok. One really fun part was when Matthew put on a girl hanbok for fun. It was very entertaining!
   
   
After trying on hanbok, we explored the site. There were many traditional games and things to do! 

   
        
  

      

  When we made kimchi, we were all in this giant kitchen facing each other, half on each side of the table. A lady, the kimchi master, was at the front with a microphone. She explained to us what kimchi is and taught us how to make it. It was fun to make! That was my first time making it, but I had eaten it plenty of times prior to that day.

   
       
That night at dinner, we gave our kimchi to my host parents and we all ate it with our dinner.

Leave a comment